Monday, 18 March 2013

FRACtured FUTURE Lectures by Ian Crane

"Are we in danger of condemning our Children to lives of abject misery?"


Former oilfield executive Ian R Crane has engaged industry sources and independent researchers to lay the foundations for his investigations into fracking – mining of shale and coal seam gas. In “Fractured Future – It doesn’t have to be this way”, a nationwide speaking tour, Ian asks whether this ‘miracle’ of nature really will be the solution to our nation’s problems? Is it going to be the best thing for us since North Sea gas, or are there hidden dangers which could impact upon communities in ways which need open discussion?

Across the UK, a backdrop of unemployment, national debt and austerity is creating a distraction from more long-term problems. While such issues will take decades to address, the potential hazards brewing in the background, which the wider public remain complacent about, are likely to take centuries to put right. Ian considers whether corporate profits are being put ahead of the health, safety and the well-being of our natural environment. We are subjected to increasing restrictions on food choices and health choices, all in the name of protecting us. We have more surveillance and monitoring to safeguard us, and further restrictions on the media are forthcoming. Are such actions justified, and considering our safety is being seen as paramount in these areas, will fracking be subjected to equal levels of caution?

Our national debt has risen by 4%, from 82% to 86% of our Gross Domestic Product, despite all the austerity measures put in place – creating a Trillion Dollar Debt. As experts will tell you, once it goes beyond 100% (where UK debt will be more than annual turnover) our problems will escalate. Is fracking a short-term gain for a long-term loss? A credit crunch turned into an environmental crunch, while bankers’ bonuses continue to escalate?

Meanwhile, Al-Qaeda are being fought and funded by the West at one and the same time, and yet the people of Britain just shrug their shoulders. Are we heading towards another World War, and if so, who actually is the enemy? With the unlimited power supposedly presented to us via fracking worldwide, will global peace break out, or will this represent the beach-head in the next battle for energy supremacy?

These events will include an opportunity to question Ian on his analysis of the unfolding geo-political agenda.


FRACKtured FUTURE Tour Schedule

FRACKtured FUTURE :- Tour Schedule by Date
Tues 19th Mar - Birmingham : Kings Heath Cricket Club, 247 Alcester Road, Kings Heath, Birmingham B14 6DT
Weds 20th Mar - Burnley : The Kestral Suite, Cow Lane, Burnley BB11 1NN
Fri 22nd Mar - Birkenhead : Mackenzies, 134 Claughton Road, Birkenhead, Merseyside CH41 6EY
APRIL
Tues 2nd April - Norwich : Maids Head Hotel, Tombland, Norwich, Norfolk NR3 1LB
Weds 3rd April - Ipswich : Holiday Inn, London Road, Ipswich, Suffolk IP2 0UA
Thurs 4th April - Harlow : Park Inn, M11 Jcn 7, Southern Way, Harlow, Essex CM18 7BA
Friday 5th April - Cambridge : Holiday Inn, Lake View, Bridge Road, Cambridge CB24 9PH
Mon 8th April - Bracknell : Coppid Beach Hotel, John Nike Way, Bracknell, Berks RG12 8TF
Tues 9th April - Newbury : Chequers Hotel, 6-8 Oxford Street, Newbury, Berks RG14 1JB
Weds 10th April - Swindon : Jury's Inn, Fleming Way, Swindon, Wilts SN1 2NG
Thurs 11th April - Oxford : Holiday Inn, Peartree Roundabout, Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 8JD
Friday 12th April - Weston-Super-Mare : T Time Temple, 26 West Street, Weston-Super-Mare, Somerset BS23 1JU
Tues 16th April - Derby : Holiday Inn, Derby Riverlights, Morledge, Derby DE1 2AY
Weds 17th April - Hereford : Three Counties Hotel, Belmont Road, Hereford HR2 7BP
Thurs 18th April - Leicester : Stoneycroft Hotel, 5/7 Elmfield Ave, Leicester LE2 1RB
Fri 19th April - Milton Keynes : Holiday Inn, 500 Saxon Gate West, Milton Keynes, Bucks MK9 2HQ
Mon 22nd April - Nottingham : Jury's Inn, Waterfront Plaza, Station Street, Nottingham NG2 3BJ
Tues 23rd April - Stoke-on-Trent : Quality Hotel, 66 Trinity Street, Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent, Staffs ST1 5NB
Weds 24th April - Worcester : Whitehouse Hotel, 61-62 Foregate Street, Worcester WR1 1EA
Thurs 25th April - Reading : Hilton Hotel, Drake Way, Reading, Berks RG2 0GQ
Friday 26th April - Northampton : Holiday Inn, Bedford Road, Northampton NN4 7YF
Mon 29th April - Durham : Three Tuns Hotel, New Elvet, Durham, Co. Durham DH1 3AQ
Tues 30th April - Hull : Mercure Hotel, 170 Ferensway, Hull, E. Yorks HU1 3UF
MAY
Weds 1st May - Scunthorpe : Wortley House Hotel, Rowland Road, Scunthorpe, Lincs DN16 1SU
Thurs 2nd May - Newcastle-upon-Tyne : Copthorne Hotel, The Close, Quayside, Newcastle-upon-Tyne NE1 3RT
Friday 3rd May - Leeds : The Met, King Street, Leeds, Yorks LS1 2HQ
Tues 7th May - Barnsley : Ardsley House Hotel, Doncaster Road, Ardsley, Barnsley, South Yorks S71 5EH
Weds 8th May - Sheffield : Novotel, Arundel Gate, Sheffield, South Yorks S1 2PR
Thurs 9th May - Peterborough : Ramada Hotel, Thorpe Meadows, Peterborough, Cambs PE3 6GA
Friday 10th May - Hebden Bridge : Marco's, Valley Road, Hebden Bridge, West Yorks HX7 7BN
Mon 13th May - Belfast : Holiday Inn, 22 Ormeau Avenue, Belfast BT2 8HS
Tues 14th May - Derry : Ramada da Vinci Hotel, 15 Culmore Road, Derry BT48 8JB
Weds 15th May - Galway : Ardilaun Hotel, Taylors Hill, Galway. IRELAND
Thurs 16th May - Cork : Maldron Hotel, John Redmond Street, Cork, IRELAND
Friday 17th May - Waterford : Treacy's Hotel, 1 Merchants Quay, Waterford, IRELAND
Sun 19th May - Dublin : (FULL DAY EVENT) Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley, Dublin 22, IRELAND
JUNE
Mon 3rd June - Liverpool : Thistle Atlantic Tower, Chapel Street, Liverpool L3 9RE
Tues 4th June - Carlisle : Pinegrove Hotel, 262 London Road, Carlisle, Cumbria CA1 2QS
Weds 5th June - Glasgow : Mercure Hotel, 201 Ingram Street, Glasgow, Lanarkshire G1 1DQ
Thurs 6th June - Edinburgh : Holiday Inn, 132 Corstophine Road, Edinburgh, Lothian EH12 6UA
Friday 7th June - Manchester : Mercure Hotel, Piccadilly Plaza, Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH
Mon 10th June - Melksham : Melksham House, Market Place, Melksham, Wiltshire SN12 6ES
Tues 11th June - Penzance ; The Lugger Hotel, Marine Terrace, Penzance, Cornwall TR18 4DL
Mon 17th June - Exeter : ABode Hotel, Cathedral Yard, Exeter, Devon EX1 1HD
Tues 18th June - Bristol : Holiday Inn, Bond Street, Bristol BS1 3LE
Thurs 20th June - Plymouth : Holiday Inn, Armada Way, Plymouth, Devon PL1 2HJ

Mon 24th June - Bournemouth : Connaught Hotel, 30 West Hill Road, West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH
Tues 25th June - Southampton : Hilton Hotel, Bracken Place, Chilworth, Southampton SO16 3RB
Weds 26th June - Brighton : Brighton Hotel, 143-145 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PQ
Thurs 27th June - Eastbourne : York House Hotel, 14-22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne, Sussex BN22 7AP
Fri 28th June - Portsmouth : Holiday Inn, Pembroke Road, Portsmouth, Hants PO1 2TA
JULY
Mon 1st July - Cardiff : Holiday Inn, Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD
Tues 2nd July - Swansea : The Dragon Hotel, The Kingsway, Swansea SA1 5LS
Weds 3rd July - Shrewsbury : The Lion Hotel, Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury, Shropshire SY1 1UY
Friday 5th July - Ebbw Vale : Ebbw Vale Institute, Church Street, Ebbw Vale, Blaneau Gwent NP23 6BE


Mon 8th July - Epsom & Ewell : Bourne Hall, Spring Street, Ewell, Surrey KT17 1UF
Tues 9th July - Maidstone : Russell Hotel, 136 Boxley Road, Penenden Heath, Maidstone, Kent ME14 2AE
Weds 10th July - Hastings : The White Rock Hotel, White Rock, Hastings, East Sussex TN34 1JU
Thurs 11th July - Worthing : Ardington Hotel, Steyne Gardens, Worthing, West Sussex BN11 3DZ